Maulana Azad Institute of Dental Sciences

The dental wing of Maulana Azad Medical College, as this institute was called originally was served by honorary dental surgeons Dr. P. P. Sawhney and Dr. P. K. Khurana. Later on Dr. P. P. Thukral, joined Maulana Azad Medical College as the first Associate Professor in Dentistry and Head of the Dental Wing in Nov 1983 when the First BDS batch was started. He was succeeded by Dr. A. N. Srivastava, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon, who headed the Dental Wing from 1984 till 1989.

In 2003, the dental wing was separated from MAMC as Maulana Azad Dental College and Hospital and was a granted an independent status under the Government of NCT of Delhi. Dr. Mahesh Verma became the first principal of the college in 2002. The Institute saw a continuous increase in faculty. members to share the ever increasing workload. The year 1987 saw joining of Dr. Sangeeta Talwar, Dr. Sadhana Mate, Dr. Meera Chowdhary and Dr. Bali closely followed in 1991 by Dr. Tulika Tripathi, Dr. Arundeep Kaur and Dr. Harpreet Grewal. The ever increasing growth our family since then has led to our present strength of more than 55 faculty members.

Along with its various academic pursuits, the institute has been extremely proactive in spreading mass awareness about oral health care. This has been achieved through it’s annual foundation day celebrations held in the month of December. The first such celebrations were held in the year 1989 and were rechristened as Dental Health Mela in the year 2000.

The institute has been declared as a ‘Center of Excellence’ under the Government of NCT of Delhi and is now rated as one of the finest Dental Institutions in the field of dental sciences. With global state of the art facilities and a dedicated team of professionals, the institute is one of the pioneers in oral health care delivery to the community and the country.

Contact Us

Public Health Dental Directory
Website last Updated on : 2020/11/23